Hunters of the Dusk by Darren Shan

Posted June 11, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

Hunters of the Dusk by Darren ShanHunters of the Dusk by Darren Shan
Series: Cirque du Freak #7
Also in this series: A Living Nightmare, The Vampire's Assistant, Tunnels of Blood, Vampire Mountain, Trials of Death, The Vampire Prince, Allies of the Night, Killers of the Dawn, The Lake of Souls, Lord of the Shadows, Sons of Destiny
on May 11 2005
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Middle Grade, Young Adult
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
Source: Owned
Buy on Amazon

This is an affiliate link you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.


"For me, the tragedy began when, mesmerized by a vampire's amazing performing tarantula, I stole it from him. I paid for my crime with my humanity.
My name's Darren Shan. I'm a half-vampire."
Darren Shan leaves Vampire Mountain as part of an elite force on a life-and-death mission to find the newly-risen Vampaneze Lord, who is set to lead the vampaneze into war against the vampires.

Main points

This book was good, but…strangely forgettable. I just finished and am having a hard time remembering it. I remember the end, but not much before.

We met a few new interesting people. We meet the other Vampire Prince, Vancha March, who is extremely traditional to the point of living basically like a wolf. He’s got weird habits but is pretty cool. Then there’s the not-witch Evanna, who is pretty ok but at time incredibly unlikable. Another neutral character, like Mr. Tiny and Mr. Tall. Then when they go back to the Cirque, we find that Evra has married and had children, the first of which he names after Darren, which is adorable. Shancus (lol) is a cute kid. It’s great to see Evra again, and now things are a little more even because Darren has grown quite a lot by this point. Time seems to keep skipping ahead! And Darren is even closer to becoming a full vampire. He’s aged physically a bit as well, but not much. He’s grown more with experience though.

Aside from meeting people, the travel isn’t all that interesting. Harkat is still my favorite, but I think his time of being who he is now is running out. Mr. Tiny visits and tells them more. Mr. Tall gives them more information. Evanna reveals some stuff. It’s all pretty dark and could-go-one-way-or-another. And, as expected, one of the chances to kill the Vampaneze Lord comes to pass. No prizes for guessing what the outcome is! But it’s a bit interesting.

Well, this was a tad boring in comparison to the other books, but I still want to see how certain things play out. Onwards.

 reaction upon finishing

Well, that was quite expected.

this book in one word


About Darren Shan

Darren Shan (born July 2, 1972 in London, England) is the pen name of the Irish author Darren O’Shaughnessy, as well as the name of the protagonist of his book series The Saga of Darren Shan, also known as The Cirque Du Freak Series in the United States. He is the author of The Demonata series, as well as some stand-alone books, and a series of books for adults under the alternative name of D.B. Shan.

Overall: four-stars


Sign up here to receive ALL of Awesome Book Assessment's posts in your inbox!

Nose Graze - WordPress themes and plugins for the creative blogger

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of