Lord of the Shadows by Darren Shan

Posted June 29, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 16 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug use, alcohol use, language, and/or violence.
Lord of the Shadows by Darren ShanLord of the Shadows by Darren Shan
Series: Cirque du Freak #11
Also in this series: A Living Nightmare, The Vampire's Assistant, Tunnels of Blood, Vampire Mountain, Trials of Death, The Vampire Prince, Hunters of the Dusk, Allies of the Night, Killers of the Dawn, The Lake of Souls, Sons of Destiny
Published by Brown Books for Young Readers on May 1st 2007
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult, Middle Grade
Pages: 220
Format: Paperback
Source: Owned
Buy on Amazon

This is an affiliate link you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.


""All must fall to the Lord of the Shadows," he said softly to me. "This is my world now." I snatched one final glimpse of the Lord of the Shadows before I died. And this time it wasn't his face I saw - it was mine.

My name's Darren Shan. I'm a vampire."

When Darren Shan returns home, he is met by old enemies and a score to be settled, and with destiny certain to destroy him, the world seems doomed to fall to the Ruler of the Night.

Main points

Wow this book was good. This was what I needed. The previous few were so different but this was like it was in the beginning. I didn’t even mind the urban setting. It was a nice change from the crazy wasteland of the last book.

There was tragedy, of course, and it was quite shocking. Darren himself changes more in this book than any other, I think. It’s starting to look like whatever future happens, it will be awful. And everyone says there is no way to alter destiny, but I’m not so sure. I don’t think we’d have twelve books leading up to a horrible ending. There were also quite a few fun revelations, mostly about family relations. In some cases it changed up the game. In others it was just sad.

Well, let’s see what the big finale is. I’m sure it will shake everything up.

 reaction upon finishing

Bring it on!!

this book in one word


About Darren Shan

Darren Shan (born July 2, 1972 in London, England) is the pen name of the Irish author Darren O’Shaughnessy, as well as the name of the protagonist of his book series The Saga of Darren Shan, also known as The Cirque Du Freak Series in the United States. He is the author of The Demonata series, as well as some stand-alone books, and a series of books for adults under the alternative name of D.B. Shan.

Overall: five-stars


Sign up here to receive ALL of Awesome Book Assessment's posts in your inbox!

Nose Graze - WordPress themes and plugins for the creative blogger

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of