Sons of Destiny by Darren Shan

Posted June 30, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

Sons of Destiny by Darren ShanSons of Destiny by Darren Shan
Series: Cirque du Freak #12
Also in this series: A Living Nightmare, The Vampire's Assistant, Tunnels of Blood, Vampire Mountain, Trials of Death, The Vampire Prince, Hunters of the Dusk, Allies of the Night, Killers of the Dawn, The Lake of Souls, Lord of the Shadows
Published by Brown Books for Young Readers on September 1st 2007
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Middle Grade, Young Adult
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
Source: Owned
Buy on Amazon

This is an affiliate link you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.


Time seemed to collapse... There was a sharp stabbing sensation in my stomach... Steve crowed, "Now I have you! Now you're gonna die!"Dead if he loses - damned if he wins. The time has finally come for Darren to face his archenemy, Steve Leopard. One of them will die. The other will become the Lord of the Shadows - and destroy the world.
Is the future written, or can Darren trick destiny?

Main points

This book was…very good. As a conclusion, it was definitely something you had to come to terms with. It was really cool, because of some really neat twists and ways to tie things together, but it was also kinda unsatisfying.

The parts we expected pretty much went without surprises, but things went haywire after that. You can kinda get from the synopsis that it’s not going to go exactly as expected. I’ll tell you right now, Mr. Tiny has a much bigger role than anticipated. Also, the title of this book is pretty important. It’s difficult to describe my feelings without spoilers, so this is the end of the spoiler-free part of the review.

View Spoiler »

So I don’t get some things, but it’s still a cool book. We learn a lot more about Mr. Tiny and how things work with him and Evanna. Things get resolved in a…strange way. That’s it! I still really like this as a series.


 reaction upon finishing

Wow…really not sure how to feel about that…

this book in one word


About Darren Shan

Darren Shan (born July 2, 1972 in London, England) is the pen name of the Irish author Darren O’Shaughnessy, as well as the name of the protagonist of his book series The Saga of Darren Shan, also known as The Cirque Du Freak Series in the United States. He is the author of The Demonata series, as well as some stand-alone books, and a series of books for adults under the alternative name of D.B. Shan.

Overall: five-stars


Sign up here to receive ALL of Awesome Book Assessment's posts in your inbox!

Nose Graze - WordPress themes and plugins for the creative blogger

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of