Trials of Death by Darren Shan

Posted June 8, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 16 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug use, alcohol use, language, and/or violence.
Trials of Death by Darren ShanTrials of Death by Darren Shan
Series: Cirque du Freak #5
Also in this series: A Living Nightmare, The Vampire's Assistant, Tunnels of Blood, Vampire Mountain, The Vampire Prince, Hunters of the Dusk, Allies of the Night, Killers of the Dawn, The Lake of Souls, Lord of the Shadows, Sons of Destiny
Published by Brown Books for Young Readers on April 1st 2004
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Middle Grade, Young Adult
Pages: 207
Format: Paperback
Source: Owned
Buy on Amazon

This is an affiliate link you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.


The trials: seventeen ways to die unless the luck of the vampire is with you. Darren Shan must pass five fearsome Trials to prove himself to the vampires clan - or face the stakes of the Hall of Death. But Vampire Mountain holds hidden threats. Sinister, potent forces are gathering in the darkness. In this nightmarish world of bloodshed and betrayal, death may be a blessing...

Main points

Wow that was intense! Things are really starting to pick up now.

The Trials were just about as bad as you’d think. Quite difficult. Quite painful. Impossible to complete if you aren’t at least half-vampire. You’ve got to be able to withstand a lot. Darren does better than expected, though he nearly dies at several points. Then there’s a surprise twist and something new is brought into play. And what a cliffhanger!

People are not quite what they seem. People meaning anyone of any species. It’s a time of trickery. I guess the main idea is just to stay alive. But then there’s also the thing about having honor…As a vampire, you must be honorable. It’s the biggest unofficial rule.

I liked this book a lot! Things really started happening. I don’t think it’s the main plot, but I’m excited enough to leap right into the next one.

 reaction upon finishing

Wow! What happens next?

this book in one word


About Darren Shan

Darren Shan (born July 2, 1972 in London, England) is the pen name of the Irish author Darren O’Shaughnessy, as well as the name of the protagonist of his book series The Saga of Darren Shan, also known as The Cirque Du Freak Series in the United States. He is the author of The Demonata series, as well as some stand-alone books, and a series of books for adults under the alternative name of D.B. Shan.

Overall: five-stars


Sign up here to receive ALL of Awesome Book Assessment's posts in your inbox!

Nose Graze - WordPress themes and plugins for the creative blogger

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of